Google Me Baby!!!

7400445_orig

Well, before I can say “Google Me Baby” to anyone, I needed to go on a mission and find out what is out there about me, my life in the virtual world. I did not have to go that far, again, thanks Google!!

I found that I do not have a lot of digital footprint. This is mainly because I am a very private person. So when I googled myself, I found that I was on the following sites:

  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
  • ResearchGate
  • UCT Monday Paper archives
  • Pinterest
  • Facebook

And my way too old Qeep account also appeared (an account that has been dormant for 4 years, I even forgot it existed). I do not even remember the reason I created that account. When I clicked on it some embarrassing teenage texting language style was used, which I thought it was cool at the time because everyone else was using it. At the time, people did not see the use of vowels as that important when texting. To my defense, I was a teenager and I was not aware of online presence or digital footprint =)

The Facebook profile on the other hand, I temporarily deactivated it during my exams in 2012 and I never looked back. I think one of the reasons I decided to remain inactive is that, I became aware of the fact that my digital footprint may influence how potential employers would view me in the future.  I did not want to take any chances.  My friends think that my view on the matter is extreme because there is no way they can survive without Facebook.

However, I decided to create LinkedIn and Twitter profiles. I use these two accounts professionally. I also use them to keep up to date with the latest news and NOT the Kardashians =)

I found two pictures of myself on Google Images, one from the UCT Monday Paper and the other from my LinkedIn profile. The rest of the people on that page I have no idea who they are.

I must admit that my visibility online requires some improvement. I need to be more active online but on a positive light. I will do so through this blog, LinkedIn and Twitter. Since, I made a choice to step in this arena, I will have to make sure that my privacy settings are protected, make sure that I put myself out there, show up, be seen and share my thoughts with the rest of the world.

And when I am ready to say “Google Me Baby” (hopefully it will never come to that, how embarrassing), all the good that I do and the highest expression of myself will be my only digital footprint.

Seth-Godin-xgzhre

Leave a Reply

